Is Japanese Food Safe?

This is an excellent brief write up from a fellow blogger about radiation contaminated food here in Japan. Also, completely justifies my lifetime moratorium on mushrooms…

IntrovertJapan

Japanese mushrooms

The disaster at the Fukushima Daichi plant gave a good portion of East Japan a dusting of radiation, which at the time of the event contaminated several parts of the food supply.

Several hits to my site from search engines have been queries about radiation levels in the food and if it’s safe to eat or not. So I thought I would post about it. I’m no expert, mind you, but I can give you what information I do know.

Any food you find in a supermarket and restaurants will have passed the government’s screening process for radiation and will be within the legal limit.

The legal limit? That doesn’t mean anything to me.

Well, to give you an idea about what it does mean: the Japanese government’s limit for radiation in food is now twenty times stricter than either the E.U. or the U.S.’s regulations.

See article here.

View original post 332 more words

Leave a Reply

